NAL Announces Teams for 2018 Play - Northeast Bolstered by Expansion

national arena league

Atlanta, GA – The National Arena League announced today its intentions for 2018 NAL member teams. The Columbus Lions, Georgia Firebirds, High Country Grizzlies, Jacksonville Sharks, Jersey Flight, Lehigh Valley Steelhawks and Monterrey Steel have committed to the 2018 season.

Earlier in the week, the NAL Advisory Board granted conditional approval for the following markets: 1) Providence, Rhode Island; 2) Boston, Massachusetts; 3) Richmond, Virginia; and 4) Orlando, Florida. Ownership is in place in all markets and the condition is that the leases are finalized in their respective markets by mid-August. More markets are expected to be finalized in the next few weeks.

“We have realized that geographic locations of member teams is only a minor factor in the expansion and the growth of the NAL, stated Commissioner John Gregory. The most important factors are owners that have capable operators and a commitment and passion to arena football. We set no geographic boundaries or limitations on ourselves. We want the best partners.”

The NAL expansion deadline is August 15.

“We feel that all member teams must be ready to go by mid-August in order to maintain a sound business model, Gregory continued. We are aiming for an October 1 schedule for our teams to maximize season ticket and group sales opportunities. It is football and we all love arena football, but it is the business of football and we must implement these strategies to maintain a strong foundation for success.”

About the NAL

The National Arena League was founded in 2016 and hosted its inaugural season in 2017 as the premiere league in arena football. The league currently has franchises in both the United States and Mexico. For more information on the NAL visit or view us on social media at,,

online stats banner
subscribe rss banner

O 5


d 5


sp 5


vidswap banner